1. Technology

GIAC Certifications


Top Related Searches
GIAC: Global Information Assurance Certifications
Description: The first ever technical security certification program, GIAC continues to be popular with a wide range of certifications. To obtain a GIAC certification candidates must complete a practical, hands-on exam in addition to one or more technical exams.
Certifications Offered:
GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)
GIAC Certified Firewall Analyst (GCFW)
GIAC Certified Security Leadership (GSLC)
GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst (GCIA)
GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)
GIAC Certified Windows Security Administrator (GCWN)
GIAC Certified UNIX Security Administrator (GCUX)
GIAC Information Security Officer (GISO)
GIAC Systems and Network Auditor (GSNA)
GIAC Certified Forensic Analyst (GCFA)
GIAC IT Security Audit Essentials (GSAE)
Costs: Each certification costs $450 if you take the exam only. If you attend GIAC training or a GIAC conference, the cost of the exam is reduced to $250 (however, course and conference registration fees run from $600 to $3,000).
Recertification: Recertification is required at intervals determined by GIAC (every two to four years, depending upon the certification). They will notify you three months before recertification is required. The cost is $120. If you hold multiple GIAC certifications and must recertify more than one in a single year, the $120 must only be paid once for that year. More information.
Steps to a GIAC Certification From the GIAC website, find out how to get certified.

Free Exam Notes from ExamNotes.com for the SANS GCFW practical exam.

GSEC Practice Exam From GoCertify, a downloadable practice exam for $39.95.

Sans Giac Certification: Security Essentials Toolkit Take a look at this book designed to help you get the GSEC Certification.

SANS Training Schedule The main page of the SANS website displays all training dates and locations.

SANS Forums

Related Articles

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.