1. Technology

CISA - Certified Information Systems Auditor


Top Related Searches
Description: The CISA certification is for those who need to display knowledge of IT auditing, security, and control. This certification is extremely popular with the number of certified professionals numbering over 30,000. Testing is offered once per year at testing locations worldwide.

"IT professionals holding the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification earned the largest gains in premium bonus pay among 56 certifications surveyed by Foote Partners, LLC during 2003 and 2002."

  • Must pass one exam. The exam is administered once annually, in June and consists of 200 multiple choice questions to be completed in four hours.
  • Five years of verifiable experience in IS auditing, control or security is required. Experience must be obtained in the 10 years preceding taking of the exam.
  • Agree to the ISACA code of ethics.
  • Agree to adhere to the Information Systems Auditing Standards as adopted by ISACA.
  • Prices for ISCA members range from $300 to 385 depending upon when you register and if you do so online.
  • Prices for non-members rangge from $420 to 505, also depending upon date and method of registering.
Recertification: To maintain your certification you must pay maintenance fees and complete a minimum of 20 contact hours of CPE (continuing professional education) credits annually.
  • ISACA The best information on this certification can be obtained directly from the ISACA website.
  • Chapters Local chapters can be found in 65 countries. Contacting your nearest chapter is a great way to begin preparing for the exam.
  • Related Certifications Also check out the GSNA (GIAC Systems and Network Auditor) and GSAE (GIAC IT Security Audit Essentials) certifications.
  1. About.com
  2. Technology
  3. Tech Certification
  4. Certifications by Job Role
  5. Security Certs
  6. CISA - Certified Information Systems Auditor

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.